• Rwanda’s Green Fund is a ground-breaking environment and climate change investment fund.

  • The fund invests in the best green projects that have the potential for transformative change.

  • The Green Fund provides expert technical assistance to ensure the success of its investments.

WHAT IS THE RWANDA GREEN FUND?

The Rwanda Green Fund (FONERWA) is a groundbreaking environment and climate change fund. Its purpose is to be the engine of green growth in Rwanda, while serving as a touchstone for Africa and the rest of the world. Its strategy is to provide unheralded technical and financial support to the best public and private projects that align with Rwanda’s commitment to a green economy.

 

OUR VISION FOR THE FUTURE

To respond to Rwanda’s current and future financing needs for environment, climate change, and green growth to accelerate goals of national sustainable economic development.

HOW THE FUND WORKS

The fund carries out public Calls For Proposals and applicants have a one month window of opportunity to submit their project concepts, known as Project Profile Documents (PPDs), developed according to pre-established criteria. All proposals received are  taken through a rigorous screening process.

The project or programme proposal screening is carried out in a fair, transparent, competitive multi-step process. It is overseen by the Fund Management Team (FMT)/Secretariat with ultimate funding decisions made by the Fund Managing Committee (FMC) based on evaluations and recommendations provided by the FMT & Fund Technical Committee FTC.

Investment Priorities

  • Ecosystem Rehabilitation
  • Sustainable Land Management
  • Integrated Water Resources Management
  • Sustainable Mining and Quarrying
  • Sustainable Forest Management
  • Promotion and Protection of Biodiversity
  • Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency
  • Pollution Management
  • Water Storage, Conservation and Irrigation Technologies
  • Applied and Adaptive Research (Agro-Forestry, Waste, Urban Planning)
  • Disaster Risk Reduction
  • Data Collection, Monitoring and Management Information Systems (MIS)
  • Strategic Environment and Climate Assessments (SECAs)
  • Sector specific (or national) adaptation and/or mitigation
  • Support to implementation of cross-sectoral integrated planning (e.g. IDP, VUP)
  • Monitoring and implementation of environment management plans for capital projects
  • Environmental auditing

 

 

Progress

  • 19,642 hectares of land protected against soil erosion

  • 137,785 green jobs created

  • 42,016 hectares of forest and agro forest coverage

  • 21,145 hectares of watersheds and water bodies protected

  • 61,592 households with improved access to off-grid clean energy

  • 106,980 people supported to cope with effects of climate change

723 Stakeholders Trained in proposal development

1392 Concept notes Submitted for funding

42 Projects Approved
6,000,000 M USD in GoR capitalization commitments

37.4M USD in seed capitalization from DFID

8.9M USD in seed capitalization from KFW
5M USD In seed capitalization from UNDP

18M USD in leveraged external finance

15M USD in leveraged co-financing for fund supported projects

The Team

Our Climate Champions

  • Hubert Ruzibiza
    Chief Executive Officer
  • Bright Ntare
    Chief Financial Officer
  • Teddy Mugabo
    Head of Business Development
  • Augustin Hitimana
    Fund Management Analyst
  • Florian Mugabo
    Program Management Division Manager
  • Eric Karerangabo
    Monitoring and Evaluation Specialist
    e.karerangabo@fonerwa.org
  • Vincent Kayigema
    Monitoring and Evaluation Specialist
    v.kayigema@fonerwa.org
  • Alain Michel Doricyusa Gabiro
    Climate Finance Specialist
    a.doricyusa@fonerwa.org
  • Nathalie Mutalikanwa
    Climate Finance Specialist
    n.mutalikanwa@fonerwa.org
  • Vianney Barigye
    Procurement Specialist
    v.barigye@fonerwa.org
  • Jonah Kwikiriza
    Procurement Specialist
    j.kwikiriza@fonerwa.org
  • Egidia Ingabire
    Human Resource Management Specialist
    e.ingabire@fonerwa.org
  • Doreen Nakure
    Public Relations and Communications Specialist
    d.nakure@fonerwa.org
  • Faith Kamukama
    Fund Management Specialist
    f.kamukama@fonerwa.org
  • Sylvia Kawera
    Project Analysis Specialist
    s.kawera@fonerwa.org
  • Stanislas Mujyambere
    Planning Specialist
    s.mujyambere@fonerwa.org
  • Sylvain Kanani
    IT Officer
    s.kanani@fonerwa.org
  • Clement Sayinzoga
    Secretary in Central Secretariat
    c.sayinzoga@fonerwa.org
  • Godfrey Gatete
    Driver
  • Sandra Ntwari
    Intern
    s.ntwari@fonerwa.org
  • Jean Ndamage
    Environmental and Social Safeguard Specialist
    j.ndamage@fonerwa.org
  • Marie Chantal Umurerwa
    Financial Management Specialist
  • Noel Hitimana
    Accountant
    n.hitimana@fonerwa.org
  • Celestin Tuyisenge
    Legal Affairs Specialist